First Month in Los Angeles

At the beginning of 2015, approximately one month ago, I moved from Charlotte, North Carolina to Los Angeles, California. I’m here, like many people, to follow my passions and create the life I’ve always wanted. I knew a few people who lived here, but for the most part it was a completely fresh start. And already, I’m positive that this move was one of the greatest decisions I’ve made in my life.

I’ve met one of the most incredible groups of people at the AJ Riley studio, where people are hard-working, talented, passionate, and supportive. They work together to help each other reach their maximum potential. And since starting classes there, I have already come to accept more about myself than I ever have before.

The fact is, you can be anything you want to be. I can be anything I want to be. I just have to claim my worth, know who I am and what I have to offer, and never give up. I have to be willing to fight. To never give up. And honestly, I’ve never seen the point in giving up. If there’s something I really want, what’s the point in not trying to get it? I’ve never understood that. What would I do instead, sit around and complain about how I didn’t make it and never got a chance? No. That’s making excuses and it’s not what I came here to do. I came here to blaze a trail and become exactly who I was always meant to be.

It also helps to have a friend who is in the same boat. Someone who also moved here from Charlotte and is blazing a trail of her own. Her name is Jacqueline Carrion and if you don’t know her name now, you will soon enough. Because she isn’t giving up either. And knowing that about her reinvigorates my own motivation and desire to keep fighting.

So, I’m surrounded by positive, inspirational people and I’m not going to give up. What does that mean, exactly? It means targeting agents. I’ve targeted hundreds and had meetings with a few of them. Now it comes to the point where I choose the one that best fits me. I should have that decision made by the weeks end. And then it’s a matter of going to auditions, making a good impression, doing good work, and never letting the world get me down. Because I am a powerful, intelligent, hard-working, talented person, and I will achieve my goals. Just you wait and see.

Pretty soon you’ll be seeing a feature film, “Sick For Toys,” written by myself and my friend James Andrew Oster, and starring myself and a few other supremely talented actors. It’s looking more and more like it’s going to be made. We’re over halfway through the script and it just keeps getting better.

And then, as you may have noticed, I’m releasing my novel, “Deviant” online as well, one chapter at a time, on Mondays and Thursdays. It’s a pretty crazy book. I like to say it’s what would happen if Chuck Palahniuk had written “The Catcher in the Rye” in the year 2015. Very sexual, very dark, very funny (if I say so myself).

The point is… I’m working for it. And I will continue to work and to try things and to fail and to learn from my experiences until I hit on something that works. And believe you me, I will  find what works. Count on it.

That’s all for me for today. Thanks for reading.

Justin Xavier Smith

One thought on “First Month in Los Angeles

Leave a Reply

