Starting New

Monday, being the “beginning” of a typical week, is the day of starting over. The day of new beginnings and freshness. A lot of people dislike Mondays. It even started that horrible expression, “somebody has a case of the Mondays!” That isn’t the case with me. For me, if you’re ever getting a case of “the Mondays,” then you have some work to do in your life. You’re not living up to your full potential and you’re squandering your abilities and your passions on something you hate doing.

So don’t. Start over. Let Monday be the day that you become something better. Ask yourself the question, “What am I doing today that makes me a better person than who I was yesterday?”

There are countless ways you can improve yourself. Whether that means forgiving someone for hurting you, making that phone call to a loved one that you’ve been putting off, letting go of a meaningless grudge, taking some fair criticism, doing something positive for a stranger, focusing on something you’re passionate about, or just giving love to the world in some small way… there is always something you can be doing.

This is me saying, I’m letting go of the past. I’m not worried about it. It’s the past. And I’m not going to worry about the future, either. It’s a realm of infinite possibility and as I improve myself in my present, the future will take care of itself. I will naturally attract things to myself that are positive and joyful. Things I may not even be aware exist. People I don’t know, people who can help me enjoy myself and advance my career. But I’m going to meet them later, and there’s no point in stressing out about any of it now.

This weekend I went to a staged reading of a script called “P5ych” and made a few friends and connections that I’m very happy to have made. I got new headshots taken on Friday. I made time to hang out with some old friends. I made a few final changes to my screenplay to finish what is now the third draft. And I had two auditions where I challenged myself to only care about one thing: Own the room. It wasn’t about the read, it wasn’t about the performance or the character, it was about being present and letting everyone know that I was a person with confidence who they could trust. And I’m very confident that I was successful in my goals.

I have to give another shout out to AJ Riley for constantly pushing me to become a better version of myself, for reminding me of my talent and potential. We were definitely meant to meet out here.

And here’s the other thing: you don’t have to only “start fresh” on Monday. Do it every single day. Do it every hour if you have to. Assess mistakes that you’ve made, reevaluate, and make the change. Press forward. There is nothing ahead of you but pure potential and it’s up to you to fight for it. But you do that by fighting for yourself. Constantly improving. There’s no version of you that is “perfect,” and there never will be. But you can always be better. And that’s where I am. I’m getting better.

Last week was a challenge for me in my personal life for a few reasons that I won’t get into here, but after understanding the reasons the week was challenging and making conscious choices to change and better myself and my relationships with my friends and family, I’m confident that I am a better person on this Monday than I was on the last.

The best part is: nobody has to notice or care about any of this except for me. I’m not making these changes for anyone else’s benefit. I’m doing it for myself. Because I want to be the best me that I can be, and part of that involves not worrying about what other people think about me.

All I really want to say is this: I’m excited. I’m so excited for everything that I’m working towards. And I cherish every single moment of the life I’m living, because I want to be able to enjoy my life. And the key to enjoying life isn’t working towards something that you think will make you happy, it’s being happy with what you already have. Change your outlook, change your life.

And that’s it for me for this post. If you’re reading this, I love you. If you aren’t reading this, I still love you. And I hope you have a terrific week and I hope you know or learn that it’s okay to start anew. I’m off to the gym to continue improving myself.

Leave a Reply

